Image result for brian cladoosby

12:00 - 1:45 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 16


Brian Cladoosby is chairman of the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, president of the National Congress of American Indians, President of the Association of Washington Tribes, and active in many other regional, national, and international organizations. He has been instrumental in the domestic and international emergence of the northwest Indian country salmon and seafood industry, and in 2011 was awarded the American Indian Tribal Leader Award for his exceptional achievements supporting American Indian business and economic development endeavors in tribal communities.

12:00 - 1:35 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 17


Dr. Mae Jemison is an engineer, physician, and NASA astronaut. She earned a B.S. in chemical engineering, M.D. from Cornell University, and was a Peace Corps Medical Officer in Sierra Leone and Liberia. Dr. Jemison founded an international youth science camp, the BioSentient Corporation, and the technology consulting firm The Jemison Group. Projects include using satellite technology for health care delivery in West Africa, and improving electricity generation in developing countries. Her book, Find Where the Wind Goes, explores her experiences growing up on the South Side of Chicago, cultivating her aspirations to be a scientist, and her historymaking journey into space.

12:00 - 1:45 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 18

Dr. Margaret O’Mara is an Associate Professor of History at the University of Washington, where she writes and teaches about the economic and political history of the modern United States. Prior to her academic career, she worked in the Clinton White House and served as a contributing researcher at the Brookings Institution. Her book, Cities of Knowledge: Cold War Science and the Search for the Next Silicon Valley, shows how politics and culture shaped the metropolitan geography of high technology. Her most recent book, Pivotal Tuesdays: Four Elections That Shaped the Twentieth Century, explores the personalities, events, and issues of the presidential elections of 1912, 1932, 1968, and 1992.