2015-2016 Public Safety Committee


The Public Safety Committee provides legislators with a forum to discuss issues relating to public safety and criminal justice. In conjunction with the CSG Justice Center, the committee engages lawmakers in policy discussions and the sharing of best practices regarding public safety issues like justice reinvestment, prisoner reentry, mental illness, crime victims and other topics.



Senator Wayne Niederhauser



Representative Kimberly Dudik





Click here for full committee roster.



2016 Annual Meeting


Community-Focused Policing; Justice Reinvestment; and Mental Health will Top Public Safety Committee Agenda in Coeur d’Alene


The Public Safety Committee will provide lawmakers an opportunity to discuss and share insights on current public safety issues affecting western states. This will include a discussion of recent officer involved shootings and violence against law enforcement officials, and innovative approaches to improve community relations. Sue Rahr, Executive Director of the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission and member of the President’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing, will brief lawmakers about meaningful solutions to help law enforcement agencies and communities strengthen trust and collaboration, while ushering a new phase of community-focused policing. Additionally, in conjunction with the CSG Justice Center, the committee will highlight recent advancement in justice reinvestment efforts, including presentations by Bree Derrick of the CSG Justice Center and Kevin Kempf, Director of Idaho Department of Corrections. Finally, Will Engelhardt of the CSG Justice Center will address the complex topic of mental health illness in the criminal justice system, particularly how states and counties can enhance the mental health needs and treatment of incarcerated individuals.


The Committee will convene Friday, September 9 at 9:00 a.m.


Click here for the 2016 meeting agenda


Bree Derrick

Click here for bio

Kevin Kempf

Click here for bio

Will Engelhardt

Click here for bio







May 20, 2016 - Public Safety Committee Meeting - Salt Lake City, Utah



2015 Annual Meeting


Click here for the 2015 meeting agenda


Presentation - Marshall Clement, Director of States Initiative, CSG Justice Center


Link - Justice Reinvestment Report 2014, Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice


Links - Senator Will Espero, Vice Chair, Public Safety, Intergovernmental, and Military Affairs Committee
Hawaii State Senate


Presentation - Gerard R. Murphy, Deputy Director, National Initiatives, CSG Justice Center


Click here to view the summary for the 2015 meeting.


2014 Annual Meeting

Click here for the 2014 meeting agenda


Presentation - Joe Brezny, Western Regional Director, National Cannabis Industry Association, Executive Director, Nevada Cannabis Industry Association, Spokesperson, Coalition to Regulate Marijuana like Alcohol in Nevada


Presentation - Thomas A. Burns, Director Pharmacy Programs, Oregon Health Authority


Presentation - Sharon Foster, Chair, Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB)


Meeting Summaries


August 2, 2013 - 66th Annual CSG West Annual Meeting



For more information on the Public Safety Committee, please contact CSG West staff by phone (916) 553-4423.