2015-2016 Transportation & Economic Development Committee


The Transportation & Economic Development Committee provides legislators with an opportunity to discuss issues relating to transportation and economic development. The committee members engage in policy discussions and exchange of information about transportation and its direct link to economic development in the region.




Representative Judy Clibborn



Senator Scott Hammond



Click here for full committee roster





2016 Annual Meeting


Click here for the 2016 meeting agenda


The Transportation and Economic Development Committee convened Thursday, September 8th, and was led by committee chair, Representative Judy Clibborn of Washington, and committee vice chair, Senator Scott Hammond of Nevada. Topics included the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation—or FAST—Act, freeway tolling and express lanes, and pedestrian safety. Matthew Hardy, program director for planning and performance management at the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, provided an update about the implementation of the FAST Act. Next to present was David Ungemah, assistant vice president and national managed lanes director for WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff. Ungemah discussed how states can use freeway tolling to manage congestion. Last to present was Peter Lagerwey, regional office director for Toole Design Group. In his presentation, Lagerwey emphasized that “good design (of transportation infrastructure) invites the right use,” defining “right use” as ‘increased accessibility and safety for all.’ The meeting concluded with an open discussion on transportation and economic development issues in the West.


Presentation - Matthew Hardy - Program Director for PLanning and Performance Manegement, American Association of state Highway and Transportation Officials


Presentation - David Ungemah - Assistant Vice President, National Managed Lanes Director, WSP | Parsons Brinkerhoff


Presentation - Peter Lagerwey - Regional Office Director, Toole Design Group



Recent CSG eCademy webinars presented by the Transportation and Economic Development Committee


Road Charge Usage: An Update from the West

March 25, 2016



2015 Annual Meeting


Click here for the 2015 meeting agenda


Presentation - Sean Slone, Director of Transportation and Infrastructure Policy, The Council of State Governments


Presentation -Lisa Stabler, President, Transportation Technology Center, Inc. Association of American Railroads


Presentation -Joe Rice, Director of Government Relations, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Colorado


Presentation - Charles Huettner, Executive Director, Aerospace States Association

Presentation - Art Maples, Director of Strategic Partnerships – Colorado, NASA Space Technology Mission Directorate


Click here to view the summary for the 2015 meeting.



2014 Annual Meeting


Click here for the 2014 meeting agenda


Presentation - Scott Jenkins, National Governors Association


Presentation - Penny Lewandowski, Vice President, Entrepreneurship & Strategic Direction, Edward Lowe Foundation


Presentation - Scott Meacham, President and CEO, i2E, Inc.



Click here for the 2013 meeting agenda



Policy Briefs


A Tool to Help Existing Businesses in State Economic Development Efforts

More Effective State Economic Development Efforts



Committee Meeting Summaries


July 31, 2013 - 66th Annual CSG West Annual Meeting



Committee Resolutions


Resolution on the Reauthorization of the State Trade and Export Promotion (STEP) Grant Program


For more information on the Transportation & Economic Development Committee, please contact CSG West Faith James by phone (916)553-4423 or email at fjames@csg.org