Program Purpose


Established in 1998, the Legislative Council on River Governance (LCRG) is a cooperative, bipartisan program comprised of state legislators from Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Through collaborative efforts, members have the opportunity to exchange information and identify solutions to address the challenges and opportunities along the Columbia and Snake River basins.  


For more information on the LCRG, please contact Jacqueline Tinetti, Policy Committees & Programs Coordinator, at (916) 553-4423 or


LCRG Rules









Senator Michelle Stennett




Committee Roster


Senator Lee Heider

Senator Michelle Stennett

Representative Marc Gibbs

Representative Sally Toone


Senator Edie McClafferty

Senator Jeffery Welborn

Representative Bradley Hamlett

Representative Kerry White


Senator Bill Hansell

Senator Betsy Johnson

Representative Daniel Bonham

Representative Brad Witt


Senator Jim Honeyford

Senator Jesse Salomon

Senator Dean Takko

Representative Bruce Chandler

Representative Sharon Wylie


LCRG Members


Idaho Senator Michelle Stennett presides as the current LCRG Chair. Voting members are appointed by state leaders in each state and meet annually. LCRG meetings are open to non-voting members and legislative staff interested in attending.


LCRG Efforts


Through its’ meeting and member collaboration, LCRG produces recommendations and requests in support of the program goals. Below are links to recent member efforts.


Northwest Power & Conservation Council


Bonneville Power Administration


Meeting Information


Mark your calendar to join us in Lewiston, Idaho on August 17-19, 2020 for the next LCRG meeting.


Please see below for copies of 2019 speaker presentations. For questions or assistance, please contact Jackie Tinetti at with any questions.


2019 Meeting Agenda



Monday, August 19

Nancy Stephan, Bonneville Power Administration

Rick Boatner, Oregon Department of Fish and Game

Captain Eric Anderson, Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife Police

Lloyd Knight, Idaho Department of Agriculture

Thomas Woolf, Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks

Kristen Meira, Pacific Northwest Waterways Association

Scott Farris, EDP Renewables North America


Tuesday, August 20

Jim Smith, Klickitat Public Utilities District

Erik Steimle, Rye Development

Barry Thom, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Agency (NOAA)